navigation buttons

Saturday, March 3, 2018

33rd Film Independent Spirit Awards winners & scene

Film Flam Flummox

A major Hollywood studio, Universal--albeit via a typically low-budget Blumhouse horror production, Jordan Peele's box office smash Get Out--was the big winner at Film Independent's 33rd Saturday-before-Oscar celebration of American independent film, the Spirit Awards, again taking place in a tent on Santa Monica beach. Taking home the main prizes of Best Feature and Best Director for Jordan Peele, the film's pair of trophies were also matched by a trio of other films also contending for Academy Awards® on Sunday: Fox Searchlight's Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri (Best Female Lead Frances McDormand and Best Supporting Male Sam Rockwell), Neon's I, Tonya (Best Supporting Female Allison Janney and Best Editing), and Sony Pictures Classics' Call Me by Your Name (Best Male Lead Timothée Chalamet and Best Cinematography). The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Best Feature
    Get Out
    Producers: Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr., Sean McKittrick, Jordan Peele
  • Best Director
    Jordan Peele, Get Out
  • Best Screenplay
    Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
  • Best First Feature
    Ingrid Goes West
    Director: Matt Spicer
    Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza Tim White, Trevor White
  • Best First Screenplay
    Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick
  • John Cassavetes Award (for best feature made under $500,000)
    Life and nothing more
    Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza
    Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández, Pedro Hernández Santos
  • Best Supporting Female
    Allison Janney, I, Tonya
  • Best Supporting Male
    Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Best Female Lead
    Frances McDormand, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Best Male Lead
    Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
  • Robert Altman Award
    Director: Dee Rees
    Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram
    Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, Carey Mulligan
  • Best Cinematography
    Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name
  • Best Editing
    Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya
  • Best International Film
    A Fantastic Woman (Chile)
    Director: Sebastián Lelio
  • Best Documentary
    Faces Places
    Directors: Agnès Varda & JR
    Producer: Rosalie Varda
But as with every year, the winners of the trophies is but a part of the whole story, for the casual, laid-back, highly unpretentious atmosphere of the event makes this awards season stop a true overall experience and not merely an awards show, with all the activity and mingling in the area around the tent just as celebratory and entertaining as the official happenings inside. Here are some visual highlights from my live Instagram and Twitter coverage today, with video of winners' backstage interviews to be posted later tonight.

View of awards tent site from Santa Monica Pier
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Backstage interview stage
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Allison Janney, Best Supporting Female winner
for I, Tonya
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Ingrid Goes West director & co-writer Matt Spicer with
producer/star Aubrey Plaza & more cast & crew,
Best First Feature winners
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Life and nothing more producer Amadeo Hernández Bueno
& director/writer Antonio Méndez Esparza,
John Cassavetes Award winners
(photo by Michael Dequina)

A Fantastic Woman director Sebastián Lelio,
Best International Film winner
(photo by Michael Dequina)

The Rider director Chloé Zhao,
Bonnie Award winner
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Tatiana S. Riegel, Best Editing winner
for I, Tonya
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Mudbound director/co-screenwriter Dee Rees with stars
Jason Clarke, Rob Morgan, & Garrett Hedlund,
Robert Altman Award winners
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Kumail Nanjiani & Emily V. Gordon,
Best First Screenplay winners for The Big Sick
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Jordan Peele, Best Director & Best Feature winner
for Get Out
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Faces Places directors JR & Agnès Varda
& producer Rosalie Varda,
Best Documentary winners
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Jeep display
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Visit Seattle bar
(photo by Michael Dequina)

Bulleit bourbon whiskey cart
(photo by Michael Dequina)

(Special thanks to Ginsberg/Libby and Film Independent for their generous help every year)

The Movie Report wants to attend all your film awards events! Please send any and all invitations to this address. Thanks!

Instagram: @twotrey23

Twitter: @twotrey23