navigation buttons

Saturday, February 26, 2011

26th Film Independent Spirit Awards winners & scene

Film Flam Flummox

After shifting to both a more traditional event venue (L.A. Live) and evening time slot last year, Film Independent returned their annual celebration of independent film, the Independent Spirit Awards, back to its rightful daytime home of a tent on Santa Monica beach for their 26th edition. The winners were as follows:

  • Best Feature
    Black Swan - Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Arnold W. Messer, Brian Oliver, producers
  • Best Director
    Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan
  • Best Lead Female
    Natalie Portman, Black Swan
  • Best Lead Male
    James Franco, 127 Hours
  • Best Supporting Female
    Dale Dickey, Winter’s Bone
  • Best Supporting Male
    John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone
  • Best Screenplay
    The Kids Are All Right - Stuart Blumberg & Lisa Cholodenko
  • Best First Feature
    Get Low - Aaron Schneider, director; David Gundlach, Dean Zanuck, producers
  • Best First Screenplay
    Tiny Furniture - Lena Dunham
  • John Cassavetes Award (for best feature made under $500,000)
    Daddy Longlegs - Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie, writers/directors; Casey Neistat, Tom Scott, producers
  • Best Cinematography
    Black Swan - Matthew Libatique
  • Best Foreign Film
    The King’s Speech - Tom Hooper, director
  • Best Documentary
    Exit Through The Gift Shop - Banksy, director
But as with every year (at least every one taking place on the beach), the awards are only a small part of the larger story, which is the casual scene and atmosphere in and around the event space.

And my favorite celebrity moment of the day...
two major movie stars, one enduring friendship.

The Movie Report wants to attend all your film awards events! Please send any and all invitations to this address. Thanks!

Instagram: @twotrey23

Twitter: @twotrey23